Last night the Dodgers beat the Padres 5-4 with an incredulous triple play that ended the game. The particulars of that triple play are what’s in question here. I watched the video over and over again and there’s no doubt in my mind the plate umpire ruled a bunt ball as “out-of-bounds” wherein the Padres ceased play, went back to their bases, and play should have resumed with another pitch. But that’s not what happened. Instead, the Dodgers kept playing as though nothing had happened, as though no call had been made, as the Padres went back to their business in disbelief because, according to their version, and what I saw on the video, it should have been a dead ball, and the batter should have returned to the plate to take another pitch.
Now, I’m as happy as the next guy to see something good finally happen to the Los Angeles Dodgers. This team’s been run through the mill these past few years and now it looks like they’re finally getting their act together. I mean the last time the Dodgers got off to a start like this they ended up winning the World Series. Here’s the article, video included, that has everyone (well, almost everyone) in a stew. See what you think!
San Diego Padres Cry foul over Triple Play Call.
- Triple play helps MLB-leading Dodgers beat Padres (theglobeandmail.com)
- Dodgers turn odd triple play on Padres bunt (mlb.mlb.com)
- Padres beaten by triple play, Dodgers in 5-4 loss (newsok.com)