Video: Umpire Changes Call Take a look at this MLB video. I wasn’t able to post the video, so posted a link to the video instead.
What’s interesting here is the umpire originally called the play as a “foul ball” but when the catcher showed the ball to the umpire, the call was changed immediately to “out”. This was all split-second timing so that’s why it’s important to watch the video.
The commentators were critical of the catch because he could have thrown the ball to first and had a double play, but catcher Eli Whiteside explained later his main concern was trying to convince the umpire, who’d already made the foul ball call, that it should have been an out.
I like this little ditty because umpires have been having a pretty tough go of it lately and this helps reinforce the fact that even though they have the toughest job in baseball, they’re still pretty darn awesome!